Skip to content ↓
Wooden Hill Primary and Nursery School

Wooden Hill Primary and Nursery School

School Governance

The Wooden Hill Primary and Nursery School Board of Governors is a diverse group of people, all volunteers, with a common interest in the school, its staff, pupils and buildings and the community of which it forms a part. Each Governor brings different strengths and skills to the Governing Board, but all have a commitment to helping the school. 

The full governing body meets twice a term. The Headteacher acts as a professional advisor to the governing body. The governors delegate the day to day responsibility for the management of the school to the Headteacher.

The governors focus strongly on three core functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

The  governing body has places for 12 governors: 

  • 7 Co-opted governors who are appointed by the Governing Body from the community
  • 2 elected parent governors
  • 1 Local Authority governor 
  • 1 elected staff governor
  • The headteacher 

Governors are appointed or elected for a four year term, but can stand for re-appointment or re-election if they wish. 

The Governing Body at Wooden Hill works as a ‘whole team’, meeting a minimum of 6 times per year, once in each term, without any separate committees.  

Mr Oliver Aldridge - Vice Chair of Governing Body

Co-opted Governors

Mrs Margaret Andrews - Development Governor

Elected Parent and Staff Governors

Miriam Stallard


Mrs Margaret Bennett

Mrs Jane Critchlow

Headteacher and Clerk

Mrs Joanna Lagares - Headteacher

Dawn Deykin - Clerk to the Governing Body



No longer on Governing Body Served on Governing Body in last 12 months

 Lisa Palk - Co-opted Governor

Appointed by: Governing Body
Category and Term of Office: Co-opted Governor 4 years to 2/11/20